Tenerife – A Magical Island


Summer 2015 has finally began with a family holiday in Tenerife, Spain. As many of you might know, unlike other ‘normal’ British holidaymakers, Spain was never a top destination on my list and by this, I don’t mean any insult to the country itself (it is a rather beautiful place actually.* emphasis added*)

From above, soon after the captain’s safety announcement for landing. I was captured by the amazing landscape of the island and its stunning coastlines. On our way to the hotel, I cannot help but to admire my surroundings in the back of the taxi, especially those gigantic palm trees along side of the road, the green shaded leaves contrasting the red roof of that typical Spanish houses. So tropical and picture perfect.

11536108_10205984006854400_2085735253101261345_n

10511232_10205983934252585_7066535883172937640_n

Tenerife is a wonderful island with plenty interesting sights perfect for all types of holiday makers. My family, especially my dad who loves visiting different sights, had once again, decided to rent a car to see the entire island. Although I am aware that most holidaymakers prefer chilling by the pool and making the most of their ‘all inclusive package deals’. ( I don’t blame you!). For me, I felt that the opportunity to visit various parts of the island was too good to miss. While there are excursions that you can book directly from the hotel, I would recommend hire a car for its convenience and that the map/road signs around the island were fairly straight forward.

El Teide 

One of the sites highly recommended by the locals, the lady at the hotel reception could not stress enough for us to visit. According to Wikipedia: Mount Teide is a volcano on Tenerife in the Canary Islands. Its 3,718-metre summit is the highest point in Spain and the highest point above sea level in the islands of the Atlantic. Although I do admit that the drive around the mountains were pretty scary and narrow, at one point it certainly felt the road to the El Teide National Park was endless and kept reminding myself not to look down. But I promise, once you reach the destination, the view was magnificent!

By the foot of El Teide, you may take a cable car which takes you to the summit. By this point, I had almost forgotten how high we climbed in the car and was curious enough to purchase a ticket to see view from El Teide. Unfortunately, me being my usual self and not wearing the appropriate footwear and clothing, being the only one wearing ballet flats and a dress amongst a bunch of hiking fanatics in their fancy hiking gears. I couldn’t do any actual climbing so I rested by the entrance area near the rocky patch and enjoyed myself there.

FB_IMG_1435068875699

10390205_10205983989933977_637899093680298128_n

El Drago

the thousand year old dragon tree, it was another hidde  treasure of the island. Located far away in a little town called Icod de los vinos. You may find great wine and lots of souvenirs at a much cheaper price compared to other parts of the island .

FB_IMG_1435068861087

FB_IMG_1435068878474Los Gigantes

possibly another breathtaking view of the cliffside near the west side of the island. By the time we reached there was at sunset and the view was magnificent! I certainly fell in love with everything on the island.
FB_IMG_1435068851429

One thought on “Tenerife – A Magical Island

What are your thoughts?