Half empty? Half full?


Half empty.. Half full? – It is a common expression used to test out one individual’s worldview.  I’ve been wanting to post my thoughts on this topic for a while now. Generally speaking, I class myself as a worrier you know the one who always picture the worst case scenario as a way to alleviate any nasty surprise I might get. This might be ok especially for coping under pressure because often I channel that ”worry” and turn it into a motivation to help me focus. However, this can’t be healthy you know, almost adding unnecessary stress on myself, it’s not fair for my wellbeing.

But since I turned 18, I found that my views began to change, it is fine to be ”half empty”  shows that you are not easily satisfied and seeing the half you don’t have in life will always get you to better yourself to achieve your goal. But after all that would be a really hard process and during that process I think it is necessary to look back to what you have already achieved, y’know the other half that is full. There are so many pessimists in this world I cannot tell you about it! Those with great ambitions but never got the chance to fulfil it that’s when they become miserable. I do admire their scale of ambition but I often wonder why make  life difficult especially their achievements are envied by many.  Perhaps, show a little appreciation for yourself?

So the message being we all need a balance of half full and half empty; one allows us to stay motivated and the other helps us to stay appreciative. In life we all need that healthy balance, after all we only get one life time and you are in total control of how you live your life, so its Happiness vs Misery?  You decide!

Published by

TravelInspire

I am an 19 years old law student who also developed a passion for travelling! This blog shares all my adventures around the world.

2 thoughts on “Half empty? Half full?”

What are your thoughts?

