Beauty of San Francisco


I remember how ”Save Me San Francisco” by Trains has always been one of my favourite songs, luckily this time last year I finally had a chance to experience the beauty of San Francisco! 😀

Renowned for its rolling steep hills, cool summers, fog. All of which marked a stark contrast to Los Angeles where I traveled from and made me realise how ill prepared I was at packing for this trip. Yeah, I only brought one thin blazer and the rest consisted of shorts and t-shirt. Basically I had nothing to keep me warm for the early mornings of San Francisco. The weather reminded me of the typical Welsh weather, foggy, chilly then some sunshine in the afternoon. But of course, San Francisco is about 100 times more fun ;)! Our tour guide Will told us how most people in SF are skinny, well let me tell you, it is not a surprise when you have to walk up all of those steep hills just to get a croissant for breakfast! haha.

 Lombard Crooked Street

 Personally I loved this ( ok maybe not the 15 minutes climbing of the hill.) It’s got  a postcard-perfect image that represents San Francisco around the world.The steep, hilly street was created with sharp curves down the one-way hill past beautiful Victorian mansions. The reason behind this is that the steep grade of the street posed a severe safety hazard. And hey, what a great idea this might be and  the curves have been decorated with blooming flowers, I do recommend everyone to take a hike to the very top, there you would have an opportunity to look down (east) at a terrific view of the city, seeing portions of the Bay and glimpsing the Bay Bridge and the city below.

DSC01319

DSC01314

Fisherman’s Wharf

Oh my, what can I remember about this place… where I had my first and the BEST clam chowder at Bouldin’s. Generally this is a mall area, but I didn’t have the time to look around so I won’t comment about whether they sold good stuff or not.  Don’t waste time at Fisherman’s Wharf without take a tour to Alcatraz!! Oh and the sea-lions at pier 39 was pretty cool and of course, for someone like me who has never seen so many sea lion so close up, it was a rather exciting moment!

DSC01378

DSC01372

DSC01375

The Golden Gate Bridge

The Golden Gate Bridge is the most iconic landmark in San Francisco! Took this picture in the early morning as you can see its pretty foggy, but of course even the foggy weather could not disguise this astonishing beauty of a bridge.

DSC01289

Published by

TravelInspire

I am an 19 years old law student who also developed a passion for travelling! This blog shares all my adventures around the world.

What are your thoughts?

